Approved Training and Certification Courses
for the Hospitality Industry
Alaska Alcohol Seller / Server Certification
Alaska Bartender License
Alaska has various laws regulating the legal
age an individual needs to be to consume, sell, or serve alcoholic beverages and other regulations regarding the
sale and service of alcoholic beverages. Within Alaska, the legal age to consume alcoholic beverages is 21.
There are also rules and regulations regarding what is required to become a bartender in Alaska
Alaska Regulations for Bartenders/Sellers/Servers:
Happy Hour Laws: Alaska Happy Hour Laws reference the prohibited practices that result in excessive consumption of alcoholic
beverages by consumers
You may NOT:
- Serve or sell two or more drinks at a price less than the number of containers actually sold - "two for the price of one."
- Increase amount of alcohol without increasing the price.
- Serve more than one free drink a day to any identifiable segment of the population.
- Sell an undetermined quantity of alcohol for a fixed price- "all you can drink."
- Sell alcoholic beverages at a reduced price to consumers paying a fixed "buy-in" price.
- Conduct or sponsor contests which are determined by the amount of alcohol consumed or if alcohol is given as a
- Engage in practices that are reasonably calculated to induce consumers to drink to excess.
Dramshop/Liquor Liability: Yes
Acceptable Forms of ID:
Rserving's Alaska Responsible Serving of Alcohol online course is approved for use by common carriers (e.g. you work on a ferry, boat, train or airplane) and by rural premises. Rural premises are licensed premises not on a statewide road system or further than 50 miles on a road system from a community where a course is offered at least once every month.
NOTE: If you work within 50 miles of a community where live classroom training is offered at least once a month, your certificate for this online course will not be valid and you need to take live classroom training.
Live classroom training is offered in the following communities at least once a month:
Related Courses for AK:
Certification in Alaska
The Alaska Responsible Serving Course for bartenders, sellers, and servers
will go over all the required information for learning to sell and serve alcohol in Alaska and provide state-specific
certification, sometimes referred to as a bartender license or alcohol seller/server permit. The Alaska course will cover topics such as how to spot someone who has been drinking too much,
How to properly check IDs, and the responsibilities/liabilities of the server. The Alaska Responsible Serving
course features interactive learning through audio, videos, and text. Each lesson of the course deals with different
areas that a bartender, seller, or server in Alaska needs to be familiar with. At the end of each lesson interactive
flashcards help with retention of the important details, and the lesson quizzes test for knowledge of the area.
Alaska regulations are governed by the Alaska Alcoholic Beverage Control Board.
Alaska Alcoholic Beverage Control Board
Professional Server Certification / Bartender Certification Training:
Professional Server Certification Corp.
The cost of certification in Alaska through this online course is $8.99. If you are a bar owner or employer in Alaska and would like to get your entire bar
staff certified, the cost is $6.95 per person. (*must purchase at least $19 worth in your first order)
Free Employer Account Setup
For a limited time! $95 Value FREE
This course is set up to allow you to advance your knowledge of alcohol service, through easy-to-master lessons.
As you move through the course, you will learn specific and detailed information about how to serve alcohol responsibly
and learn the regulations for bartenders, sellers, and servers in Alaska.
How long does the course take?
This course generally takes about 2-3 hours to complete. However, any additional time needed will depend on your personal
study habits. You can take as much time as you need to study the course material and there are no penalties for
retaking the exams.
How can I sign up?
You can enroll in the Responsible Serving of Alcohol Course (Bartender License / Server Permit Course) through
the online form using a credit card and get instant access online. Click the Enroll link to go to the enrollment
Professional Server Certification Corporation (PSCC)
offers original state-of-the-art training courses that integrate audio, multimedia, retention testing, and feedback
for the hospitality industry. PSCC can accommodate individuals or adapt a course for any size organization that
wants to train employees.
PSCC is backed by a professional support staff that can answer your questions personally using our toll free hotline.
All courses are well-designed, simple to use, and can be taken entirely online using any type of Internet connection.
PSCC's Responsible Serving Course provides official certification for alcohol servers and sellers, and possible
insurance discounts for establishments.